Reaction to Lana Del Rey’s Rituals

This is not a political blog, and I don’t intend for it to become one, but in light of recent events I feel compelled to share my views on this issue here, as it is related to Witchcraft and Wicca by extension (in my case at least, because of course not all Witches are Wiccans). I have heard from across the world that Lana Del Rey (as well as some other witchy celebrities) are promoting public binding rituals in an effort to get rid of Donald Trump coinciding with the waning crescent moons.

Now, it’s not a secret to anyone who knows me well that I despise President Trump. I think he is a terrible excuse for a leader, and for a human being to be perfectly honest. I can’t wait for his administration to be over and just hope that he doesn’t put the USA, and the world, down an irrevocable path. I already live out of the country, and am seriously considering not returning until he’s gone, but we’ll see what happens.

All that being said, I take issue with these rituals, for two reasons. One is that I don’t feel a binding is actually what we should be doing. I haven’t participated in many binding rituals, but I have done enough to know that I don’t want to bind Trump. When we bind someone, we are binding them with our own energy, and their energy combines with ours in the process. It doesn’t actually get rid of anything, so I’m really not sure why these witches want to do a binding.

When you want to get rid of something, isn’t a banishment ritual more appropriate? Maybe other Witches have had different ideas about this, but I certainly don’t want to risk the energy of this administration interfering with my personal practices and life. I feel that a binding could negatively affect me spiritually, magically, and possibly leak into my mundane life as well. Binding is for tying something up and it doesn’t always leave you. If you want to get rid of something, you banish it. At least in my experience, if others have different ideas on why a binding is appropriate, I would be more than happy to hear them.

But aside from my not understanding why they are binding rather than banishing, I have other reasons for being bothered. While reading about this idea, all I could think of was the Witches’ Pyramid. For anyone who doesn’t know the Witches’ Pyramid or needs a reminder about it, I have put it below:

To Know

To Dare

To Will

To Be Silent

I focused on the last one while considering Lana Del Rey’s and other celebrities publicizing these rituals. While “To Be Silent” does not mean that we can never talk about our practices with anyone outside of our own communities, or even outside the Witch community at large, it’s pretty clear that we need to be aware that there are times we should keep quiet.

Now, let me be clear. I firmly believe that if celebrities feel like they can use their platforms to influence positive change in society, then they absolutely should. If Lana and other celebrities want to speak out against the current political administration or any other, then they should. It’s often how positive messages are spread. Of course, the same could be said for negative messages but I think that’s true of everything.

However, my personal feeling is also that, no matter who you are or how well known you are, it’s not a great idea to publicize your intention to do a ritual that involves magic against or for another person. This is especially true if the person is able to hear about what you are doing. It kind of defeats the purpose. If I’m going to bind or banish someone, I’m not going to let them know that I’m doing it. Part of my practice really considers the “To Be Silent” part of the Witches’ Pyramid, because I know I’ve made mistakes regarding it before, and spoke when it was better to be quiet. Not to mention, I am uncomfortable with anyone using magic and rituals as part of a publicity stunt. I don’t know if this is actually just a publicity stunt, or if the intention is completely pure, but I do know that it comes off that way and I find it just a little uncomfortable.

Obviously, all of the above is based on my experiences, which have thus formed my opinions. Feel free to disagree, but I felt it was important to bring this up.

Leave a Reply

