Packing a Back Pack in Under an Hour!

One of my good friends is meticulous when it comes to things like packing and planning for travel, so when I told her that I packed for my last backpacking trip in less than an hour, she almost passed out at the thought. And many people don’t believe you can pack for such a long trip (well, it was a month, so long might be subjective) in a short time.

So here’s some tips to keep your packing stresses to a minimum!

Basically, it call comes down to understanding what you need, and not bringing much else. When you’re backpacking, you’re going to be living on basically the bare minimum. There’s a lot of comforts you might have that you don’t really need, and probably shouldn’t bring.

Okay, what you absolutely have to have with you on a backpacking trip.

  • Passport and any other travel documents.
  • Money
  • Any tickets you purchased in advance

Those are probably the most obvious, but after that, there’s some more essentials.

  • Underwear, as much clean underwear as possible! Trust me, this is the one item besides money I’d say is better to have more than you think you need.
  • Clothes you can mix and match and don’t mind wearing more than once.
  • Sensible shoes that you don’t mind wearing, and carrying in your back pack if you bring more than one pair. I had one pair of sandals, and one pair of converses, but you might have different preferences.
  • Camera
  • Basic Toiletries-depending on where you are going, you may be able to buy some while traveling as well.

Depending on different aspects your life, you may have other essentials as well, but these are the ones I’ve found most important. I’m guessing some people may be surprised I left off smart phone or tablet, but when I was last traveling I didn’t have any device that accessed the Internet.

Yes, I managed to navigate Europe without a GPS. Good old fashioned maps worked pretty well.

If you have one, definitely bring it. The cameras on them are actually better than the digital I brought last time, and they definitely would have come in handy for other reasons. I just didn’t put them down as essentials because, well, it turned out they weren’t actually essential. There are other things I did bring that others may or may not find essential.

  • I brought my Kindle so I could have some variety while reading on trains.
  • I also brought my iPod.

So, if you have all of that, you should be able to pack pretty easily! As long as you know exactly what you need, packing for a long backpacking trip shouldn’t be too bad.

Anyone have any different items that they find essential for long trips?

Leave a Reply

